Home Page


The Risby Curriculum Offer


At Risby CEVC Primary School we deliver a broad, rich and deep curriculum, that takes our children on 'A Journey Around the World'. Children start their learning journey as Explorers in Reception, then travel through Africa (Year 1); Australasia (Year 2); Asia (Year 3); The Americas (Year 4)  and Europe (Year 5 & Year 6) - acquiring the skills, knowledge and attitudes they will need to lead a rich and fulfilling life. We support, challenge and encourage our children to become lifelong learners and we do this, not by teaching to the tests, but by providing children with an innovative and creative curriculum that builds a real love of learning and enables all of our children to succeed.


Our curriculum establishes firm foundations for learning by ensuring the children are secure in the basic skills they will need to use and apply on their Journey Around the World. It develops a core set of values that underpin the children's spiritual, moral, social and cultural (SMSC) development and their sense of uniqueness and self-worth as individuals and it builds the children's thinking and questioning skills. When the children leave us at the end of Year 6, we are confident that they all carry with them: a suitcase full of memorable experiences, a deep body of knowledge, a love of learning and a passport to continued success in their studies.


Believe. Grow. Shine.

At Risby CEVC Primary School, we teach the Primary National Curriculum for England (2014) core and foundation subjects through Chris Quigley's Essentials Curriculum; we follow the Emmanuel Project for RE and follow a Ready for Life programme for PHSE and Citizenship. 


The Essentials Curriculum covers and exceeds the requirements of the National Curriculum and is made up of three elements:


  • Essential Opportunities: This is the content that we think is important and the statutory content that we are required to teach.
  • Essential Learning Objectives: These are defined learning objectives for each subject. They are relatively few in number and are designed to be repeated in a number of meaningful and exciting ways in order that they are learned deeply.
  • Essentials for Progress: For each Essential Learning Objective, there is a set of success criteria that define the milestone. Children are expected to be at an advancing depth of learning by the end of Milestone One (Year 2); an advancing depth of learning by the end of Milestone Two (Year 4) and an advancing depth of learning by the end of Milestone Three (Year 6).


Teachers are required to reference the Essential Opportunities for Mathematics, Reading, Writing, Science, Geography, History, Music, Art & Design, Design & Technology, Computing, Languages, PE and Music and, where possible, to plan Essential Opportunities that map to their continent in order that children cover each Learning Objective in an engaging, meaningful and exciting context.


For each subject, progress is measured against the success criteria that define the milestone:


  • Milestone One: Year 1 and Year 2
  • Milestone Two: Year 3 and Year 4
  • Milestone Three: Year 5 and Year 6


Progress is measured against three different levels of understanding: Basic, Advancing or Deep and children are deemed to be working at the expected standard if they are working at:


  • A Basic level of understanding in Years 1, 3 and 5
  • An Advancing level of understanding in Years 2, 4 and 6.


Children who are deemed to working at a greater depth within the expected standard will be working at:


  • An Advancing level of understanding in Years 1, 3 and 5.
  • A Deep level of understanding in Years 2, 4 and 6.